Resources in film and cinema history and studies and to library film collections in all formats, including DVD's, videos, 16mm films and online video collections
Director-producer Don Curtis perches on a crane during filming War and Remembrance .
AP Images, Copyright 1987
Welcome to the Film Studies Research Guide, where you'll find resources for locating film history, criticism, reviews, and related materials.
Contact me by email or phone. See my profile for details.
Other ways to get in touch
E-mail: Ask Us
More contact information
These are good starting places for finding online film scholarship, criticism, and reviews.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Contains indexing and abstracts, as well as full-text articles and chapters, relating to film and television. Indexes over 540 academic and trade journals, magazines and newspapers and over 150 books. Also includes Variety Movie Reviews (1914- present) and 36,000+ images from MPTV Image Archive.
- Film Indexes Online
Find authoritative information on over 120,000 films and 735,000 film personalities (1893 - the present). Indexes 360+ international periodicals, with full-text of 50+ periodicals. Includes FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals and the filmographies, Film Index International (from BFI) and the AFI Catalog. Also includes TV periodicals indexing for 1979-1998 and silent film and international film archive information. This is a great resource for research on international film; genre and theme; film music; literacy adaptation; alternative names for personalities and companies; and criticism and reviews for early films.
- Art Full Text
Citations, abstracts, and selected full-text for articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Includes animation, cinematography, video art and experimental media. Includes selected full-text. Abstracts, 1994+; full-text, 1997+.
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Four volume set which covers prominent films, directors or filmmakers, actors, writers and production artists. Entries were written by film scholars and include a critical essay, biography, production credits, filmographies, and a bibliography of works about the film or artist. This a great resource for beginning your research. Cabell Library Reference PN1997.8.I58 1997
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text newspapers, journals, trade publications, reports, and media transcripts from the U.S. and around the world. This is a great source for industry news, interviews, and reviews for films released within the past decade.