Evaluating Resources
CINAHL TutorialPubMed TutorialsAPA PsycNetCochrane LibraryRefWorks TutorialEndNote TutorialThe Search Process
This is the "Home" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Nursing   Tags: nursing, subject  

Guide to resources that are useful when it comes to the study and practice of nursing.
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.vcu.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Nursing Organizations

These links to nursing organizations may help you to find practice guidelines. 

Literature Databases: Best Bets

  • PubMed/MEDLINE  
      
    The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
  • CINAHL
    Comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Full-text coverage dating back to 1937.
  • APA PsycNet/ PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts)  
      
    APA database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.
  • Psychiatry Online
    PsychiatryOnline is a portal with entry points into a variety of resources from the American Psychiatry Association. Among them are the DSM-5; DSM-IV-TR; DSM-IV-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis; and Cases from DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion.
  • Cochrane Library
    Database of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. Includes Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Controlled Trials Register, and Review Methodology.
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse
    Public database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Includes summaries, links to full-text when available, tools for comparison, glossary, and PDA downloads.
  • Dissertations and Theses Full Text (Proquest)
    Coverage: (1637 - present) Full text for most dissertations from 1997 to the present. Includes full text for some earlier dissertations, along with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses citations from around the world.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Citation databases including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index for searches by cited reference, topic, and author.

Other Databases

SON Liaison

Profile Image
Roy Brown
Contact Info
Phone: 804-828-1592

Tompkins-McCaw Library
Send Email
Subjects:
Nursing

Other Useful Guides

History of Nursing
by Jodi Koste - Last Updated Jan 22, 2014
History of Nursing Resource Guide
1,662 views this year
Tests, Surveys, and Measures
by Nita Bryant - Last Updated Jan 21, 2014
752 views this year
Women's Health
by Margaret Henderson - Last Updated Aug 9, 2012
128 views this year
Data & Statistics
by Martha Roseberry - Last Updated Mar 24, 2014
550 views this year
Sociology
by Nita Bryant - Last Updated May 7, 2014
1,694 views this year
Medical Images
by Roy Brown, Lynne Turman - Last Updated Sep 4, 2012
410 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip