This is the "Home" page of the "Data & Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Data & Statistics   Tags: researchers_support  

Last Updated: Mar 24, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.vcu.edu/statistics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Data vs. Statistics

This guide will help you find statistics and data. Using the term data implies that you want access to a file you can manipulate with programs like SPSS, SAS or R whereas statistics means that you want to find prepared numerical information in the form of pre-prepared tables, figures, percentages and the like.

Frequently, resources that provide statistics also allow you to access the raw data. However, repositories of data are unlikely to contain any statistics. The descriptions of resources included in this guide will help you determine if a resource includes data, statistics or both.

We Recommend

There are countless sources for statistical information and data. Just knowing where to look can be tricky. The following sources cover a variety of topics, so they are a good place to start.

  • Data.gov
    The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
  • ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
    Archive of social science data for research and instruction. Includes data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Topical archives include health, aging, education, criminal justice, and substance abuse.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Abstracts for statistical publications from 1973 forward; full-text of selected publications, 1995+. For items with a SRI, ASI, or IIS record number, check the Statistical Reference Index (SRI), American Statistics Index (ASI), or Index to International Statistics (ISI) microfiche collection.
  • Simply Map
    Allows users to create thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, and marketing data.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States (1789 - 2012)
    Cabell Library Government Documents C3.134 (1957 - 2012)
    Cabell Library Reference HA202.P76 (2013)
    Summary of statistics on almost every aspect of life in the United States.

Looking in particular field?

  • Demographics
    Population, age, race, household and other demographic information for neighborhoods, cities, states, countries and other geographic areas.
  • Education
    Data and statistics related to education, such as graduate and dropout rates, gender disparity and teacher salaries. Includes resources for the United States, Virginia and the world.
  • Health
    Find health data and statistics for the world, the United States and Virginia. Topics include particular health conditions, health care and insurance, life stages, lifestyles and more.
  • Economic & Labor
    Data and statistics related to economic, business, labor, industry and commerce.
  • Public Opinion
    Information from public opinion polls.
  • Scientific
    Data collections for physical, biological, and chemical sciences.
 

Data and Diversity

Use sources like ICPSR to explore diversity.

Related Guides

 

Your Librarian

Click here to find and make an appointment with the research librarian for your department!

OR

Fill out the Consultation Request Form and we'll pair you with the correct librarian!

Ask Us

Spacer
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip