Guide to resources that are useful when it comes to the study and practice of nursing.
Some links in checklist are password protected. Please contact me if you need the password.
These links to nursing organizations may help you to find practice guidelines.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 600 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
- APA PsycNet/ PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts)
APA database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.
- Psychiatry Online
PsychiatryOnline is a portal with entry points into a variety of resources from the American Psychiatry Association. Among them are the DSM-5; DSM-IV-TR; DSM-IV-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis; and Cases from DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion.
- Cochrane Library
Database of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. Includes Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Controlled Trials Register, and Review Methodology.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
Public database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Includes summaries, links to full-text when available, tools for comparison, glossary, and PDA downloads.
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text (Proquest)
Coverage: (1637 - present) Full text for most dissertations from 1997 to the present. Includes full text for some earlier dissertations, along with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses citations from around the world.
- Web of Science
Citation databases including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index for searches by cited reference, topic, and author.
- First Consult
Evidence-based primary care information designed to be used at point-of-care. Tools for differential diagnosis, evaluation and management of medical conditions, patient education and procedures skills review.
- Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library
Library includes access to the Sigma Theta Tau's Registry of Nursing Research
- AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine
Citations and abstracts to journal articles in complementary medicine, palliative care, occupational therapy, rehabilitation and other professions allied to medicine.
- TRIP Database-Clinical Search Engine
TRIP was created in 1997 to bring together all the 'evidence-based' healthcare resources available on the Internet
- Google Scholar
Scholarly literature crawled by Google.
History of Nursing
- Last Updated Dec 3, 2013
History of Nursing Resource Guide
3,079 views this year
- Last Updated Jun 4, 2013
1,310 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 23, 2013
2,712 views this year