Data & Statistics

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.

Data Commons is an initiative from Google to unify public data through Knowledge Graph to help users explore diverse, standardized data.

Data USA is a free platform that allows users to access, analyze, and visualize government data, including demographic, health, economic and labor, and education data.

Archive of social science data for research and instruction. Includes data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Covers a wide range of topics including public opinion and political behavior.

Data from the Integrated Public Use Microdata Sample site is harmonized for better comparison across time and geography.

Abstracts for statistical publications from 1973 forward; full-text of selected publications, 1995+. For items with a SRI, ASI, or IIS record number, check the Statistical Reference Index (SRI), American Statistics Index (ASI), or Index to International Statistics (ISI) microfiche collection.

Allows users to create thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, and marketing data.

The Virginia Open Data Portal is managed by the Virginia Office of Data Governance and Analytics (ODGA) and serves to provide access to Commonwealth of Virginia datasets to constituents of Virginia. Capabilities of the portal include viewing and exporting data, viewing APIs, and exploring visualizations. Overall, the portal promotes government transparency by working to provide access to data in one centralized location. The ODGA team works to add new datasets from state agencies and other Commonwealth organizations daily. The Libraries are often asked about Virginia data, and we highly recommend exploring the interesting Virginia data on the portal!

Population, age, race, household and other demographic information for neighborhoods, cities, states, countries and other geographic areas.

Data and statistics related to education, such as graduate and dropout rates, gender disparity and teacher salaries. Includes resources for the United States, Virginia and the world.

Find health data and statistics for the world, the United States and Virginia. Topics include particular health conditions, health care and insurance, life stages, lifestyles and more.

Data and statistics related to economic, business, labor, industry and commerce.

Information from public opinion polls.

Data collections for physical, biological, and chemical sciences.