Research Guides: Patient Counseling: Getting Started

Library Tutorials

The following links will assist you in understanding how to access materials through the Health Sciences Library website.

Health Sciences Library Website Orientation for the College of Health Professions
This orientation tutorial for the Health Sciences Library will highlight the main features of the library's website, as well as important services available to you as an affiliate of VCU.
Creating an ILLiad Account
Before you can start requesting items from VCU Libraries, you will need to set up an account. This research guide will show you how to create an account and request items through interlibrary loan.

Best Bets

These databases will be good starting points for your research. For more databases which you may find useful for your research, check the "Research Focused" link in this guide.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Provides bibliographic records to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religious and theological studies, with access to full-text articles and book reviews in the AtlaSerials full-text journal collections.
APA PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts)
American Psychological Association database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.
CINAHL Complete
Comprehensive source of full-text journals and books indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL). Also features evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) foremost biomedical and life sciences database. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
Social Work Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW).
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 8

Personalized Information Services

If you have not found what you are looking for in 10 minutes ... it's time to call a librarian at Health Sciences Library.

Your librarian can provide many information based services for free, including:

Systematic Reviews - assistance with searching, citation management, and appraisal.
Expert Literature Searches
Evidence Based Practice Searches
Citation Management assistance
and more.

We can also come to your office, lab or faculty meeting, or class to give presentations on:

PubMed, CINAHL, PsycInfo, or any other VCU Libraries resource
Finding images or protocols

Other Guides of Interest

Anti-Racism Resources
by Jennifer Stout Last Updated Dec 18, 2024 101 views this year

Health Equity
by Samantha Guss Last Updated Sep 4, 2024 82 views this year

LGBTQIA+ Health
by Erica Brody Last Updated Aug 5, 2024 352 views this year

Psychology
by Sergio Chaparro Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 1649 views this year

Religious Studies
by John Glover Last Updated Dec 18, 2024 154 views this year