Research Guides: Health Administration: Getting Started

Orientation Materials

If you need help with anything you see here, please contact me at tatarver@vcu.edu, or email the health sciences librarians at AskHSL@vcu.edu.

Check out the Health Sciences Library's orientation guide to view a video tour of our space and see detailed information about the library's resources and services.

Library Tutorials

Take a moment to get acquainted with the Health Sciences Library's website through this tutorial:

Health Sciences Library Website Orientation for the College of Health Professions

Where to start your search

AccessMedicine
Access to McGraw-Hill medical textbooks including Harrison's Online. Contains multimedia library with case files, safety modules, procedural videos, diagnosis and self-assessment tools, patient handouts, an integrated drug database, and more.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts and many full-text articles on business, finance, management topics from business periodicals. Three parts: Global; Dateline; and Trade & Industry. Includes Wall Street Journal.
more...less...
Coverage: (1971 - present)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 600 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.
more...less...
Coverage: 1937-present
HCUPnet
HCUPnet contains statistics comparing hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes for community hospitals in the U.S. Generate tables and graphs for national, regional and state trends.
PubMed Special Queries
Directory of Topic-Specific PubMed Queries

APA PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts)
American Psychological Association database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.
SAGE Research Methods
Research methods tool providing access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference works, case studies, datasets, and videos about research methods, designing research projects, conducting research, writing up findings, and more.

Related Guides

Health Equity
by Samantha Guss Last Updated Sep 4, 2024 79 views this year

Health Law
by Samantha Guss Last Updated Aug 26, 2024 164 views this year

Patient Safety
by Dana Ladd Last Updated Nov 3, 2023 62 views this year

Industry Research
by Janet Reid Last Updated Nov 19, 2024 1645 views this year

Library Services

Individual / Group Consultations

If you're located in Richmond and would like to book an appointment to talk about searches, resources, or brainstorm ideas, let's meet! Sessions can happen at the library or at your location on the VCU campus; email me to set something up.

Reference Management

When you are searching for relevant articles and books for your projects, it helps to stay organized so that citing your references is pain free. You have complimentary access to Mendeley and Zotero as a VCU student. Another option is EndNote, though there is a cost after a 30-day free trial. If you want ideas on how to select a reference manager or how to use it most effectively, please email me.