Research Guides: Family Medicine Preceptors: Using the Library

Helpful Links

These links direct you to the main library pages as well as helpful links to explanations regarding your use of the library.

VCU Library Home Page
The main VCU library page where you can gain access to many of our resources.
Health Sciences Library Homepage
The homepage for the Health Sciences library located on the Medical College of Virginia campus.
Connecting to Library Resources
To access our materials from off-campus, use your eID and password.
Borrowing Privileges for Preceptors
This link provides information procedures and fees for Resource Delivery Services as a Preceptor.
VCU Affiliate Borrower Registration Form
To borrow books, you need to fill out this form and fax it to Health Sciences Library at (804) 828-6089

Using VCU Libraries Collections

As a preceptor for the Department of Family Medicine at Virginia Commonwealth University, you have access to many library resources available through the VCU Libraries. Make sure you start at the VCU Libraries's Website to access the library's collection. Log in with your VCU eID and password to access:

Databases - including PubMed, PsycInfo, Cochrane Library, etc.
Journals - electronic access to materials such as Annals of Family Medicine, Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine, etc.
Books - search our catalog for print and electronic books for preceptorship to clinical practice
Research Guides - chosen resources to find the best information quickly
Etc.

If you are having problems with your VCU eID and password, please contact VCU Technology Services.

To access Journal Articles:

Use the Get-it @ VCU button. Please view the following video, "Get-it @ VCU", below.
Most of our journals are available electronically and you will be able to access them from your home or office.
If VCU does not own a journal, you can request the article be copied and sent to you electronically.
For more information about this service, please view the short video titled "Interlibrary Loan" below.

To access Books:

Use your VCU Card and fill out the "VCU Employee, Student & Affliate Borrower Registration Form".
This will allow you to either check out VCU material at the library or have it sent to you in the mail for a small $5 fee.
If VCU does not own the material, you can request book chapters be copied and sent to you electronically.
For more information about this service, please view the short video titled "Interlibrary Loan" below.

If you have any question about the library, please contact either John Cyrus or Barbara Wright.

Access the Full Text of Articles: Get it @ VCU

Ever get stumped trying to get to the full text of an article? This video shows you how to get the full text when you just can’t seem to find it.

If you need a refresher on search strategies, check out the resources on our Research Basics guide or on our How do I Find Books, Articles, and More guide.

Need to request something through interlibrary loan? Learn more about Interlibrary Loan here.

Transcription: Access the Full Text of Articles: Get it at VCU

Interlibrary Loan

VCU Libraries collects materials useful to its researchers, but no library can purchase everything. Fortunately, the VCU Libraries participates in programs that allow us to borrow materials from other libraries, at no cost to you. If you have found something through the VCU Libraries Search, a database, or even Google, and VCU does not have access to the full text, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. This service is free to all VCU members, and materials can be sent to your home or office at no cost to you.

Read more about managing your account, including renewing and cancelling requests.