Call Number: Community Health Education Ctr General Collection RC280.K5 C34 2016
Publication Date: 2015-03-11
Whether you're a newly diagnosed patient or a friend or relative of someone suffering from kidney cancer, this book can help. Offering both doctor and patient perspectives, 100 Questions & Answers About Kidney Cancer, Second Edition provides authoritative and practical answers to the most commonly asked questions by patients and their loved ones. What is kidney cancer? What causes kidney cancer? How is kidney cancer treated? Along with the answers to these and other questions, this book provides information on the different types of kidney cancer, signs and symptoms, treatment options, and more.
Call Number: Community Health Education Ctr General Collection RC280.L9 H65 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-18
Written by oncology experts with over 20 years of experience, 100 Questions and Answers About Lymphoma, Third Edition provides authoritative answers to your questions on lymphoma. Featuring the information you need in one concise, easy-to-read volume, 100 Questions and Answers About Lymphoma, Third Edition is an invaluable resource for newly diagnosed patients, survivors, friends or relatives of either. This newly updated text features information on the latest, cutting-edge treatments and medication, Hodgkin's and Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, natural killer cells, T-cell lymphoma, autoimmune diseases, and much more! Comprehensive, insightful, compact, 100 Questions and Answers About Lymphoma, Third Edition is an essential guide for anyone coping with the physical and emotional turmoil of this disease. Features and benefits: * Concise, easy-to-read paperback book * Provides both the patient and health professional's perspective on the non-professional caregiver caring for a cancer patient * Written by an authoritative author team * Practical answers to your questions about treatment options, quality of life, caregiving, sources of support, and much more * Covers risks factors, management, and psychosocial issues
Call Number: Community Health Education Ctr General Collection RC280.O8 D55 2006
Publication Date: 2015-09-17
Whether you're a newly diagnosed ovarian cancer patient, a survivor, or a friend or relative of either, this book offers help. Completely updated, the new third edition of 100 Questions & Answers About Ovarian Cancer gives you authoritative, practical answers to your questions about treatment options, post-treatment quality of life, sources of support, and much more. Written by a gynecologic oncologist and a gynecologic surgeon, with actual patient commentary, this book is an invaluable resource for anyone coping with the physical and emotional turmoil of this frightening disease.
Call Number: Community Health Education Ctr General Collection RC281.C4 J36 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Each year more than 5,000 children and teens in the United States are diagnosed with a solid tumor (e.g., kidney tumor, liver tumor, neuroblastoma, retinoblastoma, or sarcoma). The illnesses and their treatments can have devastating effects on family, friends, schoolmates, and the larger community. This newly updated edition contains essential information families need during this difficult time. It includes descriptions of the newest treatments, such as computer-assisted surgery, tandem stem cell transplants, and targeted therapies as well as practical advice about how to cope with diagnosis, medical procedures, hospitalization, school, and finances.
Call Number: Community Health Education Ctr General Collection RC262 .C37 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Cancer patients face a daunting world of confusing information about treatment options. They may have heard of using integrative medicine to complement traditional care and alleviate both short- and long-term side effects of cancer treatments, but where do they locate accurate information on acupuncture, massage, yoga, and nutritional therapies?Survivorship: Living Well During and After Cancer provides up-to-date evidence-based information on available therapies from Dr. Barrie Cassileth, a leader in integrative cancer treatment and founder of the Integrative Medicine Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Dr. Cassileth will help patients begin to separate the facts from the hype when considering complementary medicine. A full listing of “anti-quackery” online resources is included.
Call Number: Community Health Education Ctr General Collection RC263 .S696 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-22
Cancer. It's the diagnosis no one wants to hear. Unfortunately though, these days most of us have known or will know someone who receives it. But what's next? With the diagnosis comes not only fear and uncertainty, but numerous questions, and a lot of unsolicited advice. With A Cancer Companion, esteemed oncologist Ranjana Srivastava is here to help, bringing both experience and honesty to guide cancer patients and their families through this labyrinth of questions and treatments.
Call Number: Community Health Education Ctr General Collection RC263 .J33 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-21
The prospect of entering treatment is overwhelming for anyone facing a diagnosis of cancer. While patients have access to a vast amount of medical information online, this advice is often unreliable or confusing. In Living with Cancer, Drs. Vicki A. Jackson and David P. Ryan have crafted the first step-by-step guide aimed at helping people with this life-defining disease grasp what's happening to them while coping physically and emotionally with cancer treatment. An empathetic resource full of relatable patient stories, this book teaches patients and caregivers how to ask the right questions to get the best possible care--beginning at the moment of diagnosis. Drs. Jackson and Ryan explain how to work with a team of doctors and nurse practitioners to minimize symptoms and side effects while living as fully as possible in the face of cancer. They relay important information about understanding prognosis, and they translate what doctors mean when they describe tests, treatments, and medical procedures. Finally, they discuss hospice care and answer questions about continuing treatment and managing the final phase of life. Based on new research and a groundbreaking program in which patients are treated with palliative care--along with the best cancer care--during the course of their illness, this honest and caring book provides the right advice to use at the right time throughout a journey with cancer. It allows a person with cancer to concentrate on living the best life possible, despite an uncertain future. Patients at every stage will find Living with Cancer a comprehensive, thoughtful, and accessible guide for navigating the illness and its treatment.
Google Books provides full-text access to many books in the public domain or out of copyright, and partial access to others.