The Book Arts Guild [BAG] was formed in Seattle in 1979 to support the diverse disciplines of the book arts and has been actively dedicated to promoting all hand bookmaking crafts and contemporary book arts.
The Codex Foundation exists to preserve and promote the contemporary hand-made book as a work of art in the broadest possible context and to bring to public recognition the artists, the craftsmanship, and the rich history of the civilization of the book.
The College Book Art Association is a non-profit organization fundamentally committed to the teaching of book arts at the college and university level, while supporting such education at all levels, concerned with both the practice and the analysis of the medium.
The Fine Press Book Association is an organization of individuals interested in the art of fine printing, formed with the goal of promoting the appreciation of beautiful books and printing skills.
The Guild of Book Workers was founded in 1906 to "establish and maintain a feeling of kinship and mutual interest among workers in the several hand book crafts."
The Movable Book Society was organized in 1993 to provide a forum for collectors, artists, curators, book sellers, book producers, and others to share enthusiasm and exchange information about pop-up and movable books.
Centers for Book Arts and Educational Programs
Booklyn Artists' Alliance is a non-profit organization, located in Brooklyn, NY, that assists artists in publishing, exhibiting, and distributing artist's books. Offers educational programs to the public and collection development services to institutions. Download their education manual for making different types of books, including flag books and non-adhesive bindings.
Center for Book Arts is a non-profit organization, located in Manhattan, NY, that produces artist's books and offers classes, residency programs, and exhibitions.
Cincinnati Book Arts Society is a non-profit organization promoting the book arts through educational programs, exhibitions, and publications.
Jaffe Center for Book Arts at Florida Atlantic University Libraries offers tours, lectures, and workshops on artists' books and broader topics of the book arts: letterpress, printing, fine binding, handpapermaking and paper decoration. The center has a gallery and letterpress studio as well as a paper mill.
Minnesota Center for Book Arts promotes contemporary book arts through educational programs, exhibitions, and an artist's residency program. The center also has a library and archive that houses books, broadsides, and other materials produced by the center; reference materials on book-making; and a slide library of artist's books.
Pyramid Atlantic offers classes, exhibitions, and residencies for print, paper, and book arts. Located in Silver Springs, MD, Pyramid Atlantic also sells and publishes work and sponsors an annual book fair.
Studio Two Three is a non-profit print shop in Richmond, Virginia that offers classes, workshops, as well as studio space for fine printing. The adjacent gallery space also showcases fine prints by local artists.
Visual Arts Center in Richmond, Virginia offers year round classes and programs related to book arts and fine press.
Visual Studies Workshop in association with The College at Brockport, SUNY offers an M.F.A. in Visual Studies. It also houses the Independent Press Archive with over 5,000 books.
Women's Studio Workshop is a non-profit organization located in Rosendale, N.Y. that has been publishing artist's books since 1979. The Women's Studio Workshop offers educational programs, internships, a residency program, and various grants.
Corcoran Library The Art & Design Collection from the Corcoran contains over 300 artists' books focusing broadly on the theme of social justice. The artists’ books collection serves as a teaching collection in support of the the Corcoran School's Art and the Book program. Artists’ books are housed in George Washington University’s Special Collections Research Center and are available upon request; they do not circulate outside of the library.
Nathan Lyons Research Center at Visual Studies Workshop holds research collections of photography, independent film and video, periodicals, and artist’s books. VSW’s focus on the aesthetics, cultural history, and social use of images, has inspired a collecting policy that encompasses both creative work and vernacular objects, as well as items that represent the history of media use
Joan Flasch Artist's Book Collection at the School of the Art Institute of ChicagoThe Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection (JFABC) digital library is an online guide and finding aid for the rich collection of artists’ publications available in Flaxman Library Special Collections. The JFABC brings together close to ten thousand artists’ publications in all formats and media and focuses on materials from the 1960's to the present.
Museum of Modern Art/Franklin Furnace/Artist Book Collection houses the world's largest collection of artist's books. Franklin Furnace's international collection of contemporary artist's books was acquired by the Museum of Modern Art's Library Collection in 1993. Over 7,700 artist's books are included in MOMA Library's searchable database, DADABASE.
The Sackner Archive of Concrete and Visual Poetry is located in Miami Beach and houses over 8,000 items. Their holdings include books, manuscripts, artwork, periodicals, and ephemera associated with the movements of Italian Futurism, Russian and Eastern European Avant Garde, Dada, Surrealism, Bauhaus, De Stijl, Ultra, Tabu-Dada, Lettrisme, Ultra-Lettrisme, etc.
Smithsonian Libraries now has a portal specifically for the Smithsonian's artists' books collection, which consists of over 600 titles.
Wellesley College Book Arts Collection devoted to the history and art of the book. Their collection includes a wide range of books on book production as well as fine press and artist's books. Their Research Guide has a selection of videos that document letterpress and bookmaking demos.
Chat