Research Guides: FASH 451: Importing and Exporting Fashion: Home

Multipurpose Resources

Company, Industry & Country Research Resources

Business Source Complete
Bibliographic and full-text content from peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts, full-text journals and periodicals on business, finance, and management topics. Includes all content in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Includes full-text access to The Wall Street Journal.
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
In-depth reports providing statistics and analysis on consumer, industry, and service markets around the world.

globalEDGE
A great place to "research nearly any international business question." From the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), it covers history, economy and political conditions and more for over 200 countries.

Research a Company

Company Research Resources

Dow Jones Factiva
Comprehensive, full-text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Includes national, international, and regional newspapers, both current content and archives, periodicals, podcasts, newswires, and more.
Plunkett Research Online
Analysis and market research for important industry sectors. Includes trend analysis, statistics, organizations, company profiles, information for job-seekers, and ability to create custom reports.
Data Axle
Data Axle, formerly ReferenceUSA, provides research on businesses including data summaries by neighborhood, city or state and by type or size of business. Users can conduct market research for similar or competitive businesses in a specific locality.
PrivCo
Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies.

International Directory of Company Histories
Call Number: eBook
Accurate and detailed historical information on the development of the world's largest and most influential companies.

Company Corporate Websites

Research Tip: Company Corporate Website (e.g. gapinc.com, lb.com, ascenaretail.com)
A company's corporate website can be a rich source of company information e.g.

Values
Brands/Subsidiaries
Annual reports
News

Research an Industry

Industry Research Resources

IBISWorld
Provides access to industry analysis and research for U.S. industries categorized by NAICS, as well as select Chinese and Global industries organized by sector.

WWD
Direct, online access to WWD, the “Bible” of the fashion industry. (limited to 10 concurrent users)

WARC
Global advertising and marketing trends, including market intelligence, case studies, conference reports, articles, expenditure data, profiles of major brand owners, and consumer insight.
Mintel
Full-text market research reports covering US and global consumer markets. Reports analyze market share, segmentation, and trends. Upon first login register with your VCU email address.

Research a Country

Country Research Resources

VCU Libraries Resources

EIU Viewpoint
EIU Viewpoint provides country-specific short, medium and long-term forecasts, industry data and analysis for 26 sectors, proprietary ratings on the business environment, and supply and demand forecasts for 40 critical goods.
Britannica Online
Access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, news, magazines, journals, web sites, research tools, and multimedia.
Research Tip:Search by country name to find comprehensive profiles that include history, government and economy
Statista
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Our Market Outlooks provide market sizes, forecasts, key consumer markets and relevant automotive markets for up to 150 countries.

Web Resources

globalEDGE
A great place to "research nearly any international business question." From the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), it covers history, economy and political conditions and more for over 200 countries.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on 266 world entities. A great place to learn about your country's people, history, economy and transnational issues.
World Bank - Data
Search or browse World Bank data including trade and economic indicators.
OECD (Organization for Economic Co-operation & Development) Data
Source of global macroeconomic and trade data.
Country Report on Human Rights - US State Dept.
Covers individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements.

Company / Industry News

WWD
Direct, online access to WWD, the “Bible” of the fashion industry. (limited to 10 concurrent users)

New York Times via nytimes.com
Use this link to register for a free account. Important source of reporting information, and opinion on politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad. See ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index for issues back to 1851.

Wall Street Journal (via ABI/Inform)
Business news from the US and around the world.

Dow Jones Factiva
Comprehensive, full-text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Includes national, international, and regional newspapers, both current content and archives, periodicals, podcasts, newswires, and more.

Forbes Magazine
Covers domestic and international business topics. Content included in Business Source Complete & Factiva
Fortune Magazine
Multinational business magazine. Content included in Business Source Complete
National Retail Federation
Worlds largest retail trade association includes the apparel industry. Features industry news, a podcast and access to Stores Magazine.

Import / Export & Sourcing Resources

VCU Libraries Resources

GlobalEDGE Apparel & Textiles: Trade Statistics
Top 10 apparel import and export countries and products.
Sourcing Journal
A hub of global news and information, relied upon by leaders in the textile, soft goods, and apparel industries. It connects the readers with industry resources, expert commentary, and up-to-the-minute analysis of breaking news.

Web Resources

Trade.gov
U.S. Government resources for competing in the global marketplace. The Research Center includes the ability to browse information by country and industry.
Harmonized tariff schedule of the United States
"Provides the applicable tariff rates and statistical categories for all merchandise imported into the United States; it is based on the international Harmonized System, the global classification system that is used to describe most world trade in goods."
Office of the United States Trade Representative
Browse for information about trade agreements between the US and other countries.
Thomasnet.com
The Thomas Register is a directory of US-based suppliers and manufacturers.
Davison's Textile Blue Book
Davison's Textile Blue Book is an annual directory of mills, dyers, finishers, converters and jobbers in the U.S., Canada, Mexico and Central America. It also includes various suppliers to the textile industry including machinery, chemicals, supplies and services.

FASH 451: Importing and Exporting Fashion

Related Guides

Featured Niche Company Resource

Featured Apparel Industry Books

Subject Guide

Ask Us