Your school needs to be a participant in our borrowing program. Your school librarian or media specialist is the coordinator; please contact them directly to find out if you are eligible.
VCU Libraries has an abundance of resources - so many it may seem overwhelming. Take your time, remember that research is a process, you'll find what you need with some patience and practice.
If you need help while you are on campus, feel free to drop by the first floor Information Desk. Our staff is happy to assist you.
Don't forget, your high school librarian is a GREAT resource for all your research needs!
There is a lot of great -- and often scholarly -- information available for free online. Selected options are below. In addition, Virginia's public libraries and community colleges offer borrowing privileges to Virginia residents with a photo ID (usually a driver's license). Some public libraries may require a parent or guardian present for those under 18 years of age.
Copying & printing: Purchase a pre-loaded printing card for $2 ($1 in printing is included in the purchase price) and add money to the card as needed. B&W two-sided printing is 12 cents; single-sided is 8 cents; color is 50 cents. Copies are 10 cents for single sided only.
Scanning is free, you may email the scan to yourself; there are scanners on all floors.
When borrowing materials, the borrower will receive an email with the title of each item borrowed as well as the due date for each. We will also send a courtesy email reminder 3 days prior to the due date and another the day the books are due.
High school borrowers are allowed one renewal for an additional 28 days. To renew a book the student may call Information Services at 804-828-1111 before the due date.
The base replacement fee for lost books from the collection of Cabell Library is $80 plus a $10 lost item processing fee, and for books from the collection of Tompkins-McCaw Library, it is $150 plus a $10 lost item processing fee. If a book is returned after being labeled as lost, the replacement fee is removed, however, the non-refundable processing fee of $10 for each lost/returned item and the maximum overdue fine of $10 for DVDs.
DVDs and CDs are subject to overdue fines at the rate of $1 per day. DVDs and CDs will be considered lost 4 days after the due date.