MATX Media Art & Text

Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. (1974 - present).

International index to articles in more than 450 design and craft journals. Also contains data on designers, craftspeople, studios, schools, workshops, and firms.

Bibliographic and select full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists. Includes Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and more.

The Modern Language Association of America's index of critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and the dramatic arts.

Also known as NewsBank, provides access to major national and international newspapers, local and regional titles, blogs, and more. Historical and current content, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch archive from 1903 to present.

Communication studies database with full-text, indexing, and abstracts for over 300 communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse. Includes selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles in the communication and mass media fields.

In-depth bibliographic coverage of foremost academic and popular film journals internationally. Includes "Treasures from Film Archives" dataset which includes credits for silent film-era holdings in film archives and select reference volumes.

Comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of journal articles and books covering the spectrum of television and film. Covers areas such as film and television theory, preservation and restoration, cinematography, and more.

Abstracts of articles from international sociology journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Database includes Social Planning/Policy & Development Abstracts (SOPODA) which focuses on policy issues. 1952-present. (ProQuest)

Article abstracts and citations of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Broad coverage of humanities disciplines with indexes and abstracts to articles from English-language periodicals as well as book reviews, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, and reviews of plays, television, and radio programs.

Indexing and abstracts for articles, essays, reviews, and original creative works in all aspects of the humanities, with full-text for select journal articles, books, and other materials. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index.

Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. (Backfiles end typically 3 - 6 years prior to the current date).

Full image of articles published in The New York Times including illustrations and advertisements. Covers from the first issue in 1851 to three years prior to the current year.

Combined interface for searching Early American Imprints I & II (1639-1819), American State Papers (1789-1838), and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980).

Searchable facsimile images for journals dating from the 17th to the 20th century. This resource contains Collections I-III covering historical, artistic, and popular periodicals.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 -- more than 125,000 titles.

Page by page digital images of every historically significant text published in 18th-century Great Britain and Colonial America, from books by well-known and lesser-known authors, to directories, Bibles, sheet music, sermons, and advertisements.

Digital archive of primary source collections from the "long" 19th century. Includes monographs, newspapers, manuscripts, diaries, letters, maps, statistics and more. Offers annotation and tagging tools.

Primary source materials on the transatlantic slave trade. Documents the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, the abolition movement, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S., Latin America, the Caribbean, and elsewhere.

Full text for most dissertations from 1997 to the present. Includes full text for some earlier dissertations, along with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses citations from around the world.

Search all VCU dissertations/theses submitted to UMI. Featuring page previews and full-text PDF downloads.