Research Guides: MATX Media Art & Text: Films, Images, Music

Image Resources

ARTstor
Now part of JSTOR, this image database features a range of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Collections have been contributed by leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.
AP Images
Millions of historical and contemporary news photographs with thousands more added daily. Includes a collection of graphics containing logos, maps, and timelines, as well as audio clips and news stories.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Primary source database focusing on underground and independent North American and European adult comics and graphic novels. Also includes interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism.

Try the Film Studies Research Guide for additional resources.

Kanopy Streaming
Streaming documentaries, feature films, shorts, and more. Includes films from The Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Michael Blackwood, Kino Lorber and many more.
Swank Digital Campus
Streaming collection of feature films and documentaries.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Thousands of streaming videos covering a wide range of disciplines. Includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, news, and more distributed by PBS, BBC, CNN, CBS, Sony, A&E, Contemporary Arts Media, Royal Shakespeare, and many others.

Streaming Media at VCU Libraries
This guide places an emphasis on our major streaming platforms: AVON, Docuseek, Films on Demand, Kanopy, and Swank. It describes the distinctions between these platforms, and notes which platforms require faculty to place individual license requests for course instruction. The guide also includes instructions on how to request films (for faculty), as well as how to access, search, browse, and use tools offered on each of these platforms.

Find Films @ VCU Libraries

Search in VCU Libraries Search at library.vcu.edu.
Limit your search results to Material Type=Videos
1. For Streaming Video, limit to Show Only=Access Online
2. For DVDs, limit to Show Only=On Shelf
  1. Write down the film title and call number
  2. Take them to the Cabell Library Information Desk, 1st Floor - the staff will retrieve your DVDs for you.

Want to check out a DVD but don't have a way to play it?
Visit The Workshop to check out an external USB CD/DVD/Blu-Ray Player

Try the Music Research Guide for additional resources.

Naxos Music Library
Streaming classical and world music. Includes notes on musical works and biographical information on composers or artists.
Music Online
Music Online provides the most comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. Integrated searching by ensemble, genre, historical events and more provides in-depth context for music history.

Find Music @ VCU Libraries:

Search in VCU Libraries Search at library.vcu.edu.
Limit your search results to Material Type=Audio
1. For Streaming Music, limit to Show Only=Access Online
2. For CDs, limit to Show Only=On Shelf
  1. In the library? Write down the CD name and call number, and take them to the Cabell Library Information Desk, 1st Floor. A staff member will retrieve the CD for you.
  2. Off-campus? Sign in to your library account and click Request in the item record! You'll get an e-mail when your materials are available at the Cabell Library Information Desk, 1st Floor.

Want to check out a CD but don't have a way to play it?
Visit The Workshop to check out an external USB CD/DVD/Blu-Ray Player