VCU Libraries

Research Guides

MATX Media Art & Text

Research guide for VCU's PhD program Media Art & Text (MATX) with basic resources for the historical and theoretical study of media, both old and new. Supports Department of English, the School of the Arts and the School of Mass Communications.

Getting Started

Related Research Guides

Research Guides will help you sort through research collections, database resources, and services availabe through VCU Libraries.  Explore by subject, research tools, academic program, or patron groups.  There are also researcher support guides.

Ask Us

Meet your team of librarians

Welcome to the Media, Art & Text Guide, where you'll find resources for scholarly study at the intersection of media, art, and text.

This guide is only a starting point!  May we help with questions or for a personalized consultation?
Contact us directly to schedule a consultation.

 

Arts Humanities Innovative Media Special Collections & Archives
Carla-Mae Crookendale Andrea Kohashi profile pic

Carla-Mae Crookendale
Cabell Library 121-A
(804) 828-0367
cmcrookendale@vcu.edu

John Glover
Cabell Library 121-F
(804) 828-6555
jglover2@vcu.edu

Oscar Keyes
Cabell Library 078-J
(804) 828-9612
keyesok@vcu.edu

Andrea Kohashi
Cabell Library 412-D
(804) 827-3573
akohashi@vcu.edu

Innovative Media & The Workshop

Photo of the computers and space of The Workshop with the Workshop logo over top of it.

The Workshop provides hardware, software, spaces, and expertise to help the VCU community produce creative work of all kinds. Practically, that means concentrating in three main areas: graphics, audio and video projects; the world of hands-on making; and exploring new and emerging technologies.

Contact Oscar Keyes, Multimedia Teaching & Learning Librarian for consultations and advice on using multimedia resources.

Special Collections & Archives

Book Art CollectionRare books at Tompkins McCaw Library

The Special Collections and Archives departments at James Branch Cabell Library and Tompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences
provide access to rare publications and primary source materials. Featured collections include:

  • Book Art
  • Comic Arts
  • Books, Periodicals, and Archival Collections about Richmond and VCU History
  • Archival Collections of under-documented groups in Central Virginia
  • Medical Artifacts

Contact Andrea Kohashi, Special Collections Teaching & Learning Librarian for research consultations and advice on using archival materials.

We Recommend

VCU Libraries Search