Research Guides: MKTG 435: Introduction to Personal Selling: Home

Find Company Information

Annual Report
The annual report or 10-K and other SEC filings are a great and free way to get to know a company. The databases listed here make it easy to find Annual Reports, but they are also typically available from the company's web site (look for an investors relations link) or EDGAR.

PrivCo
Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies.
Dow Jones Factiva
Comprehensive, full-text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Includes national, international, and regional newspapers, both current content and archives, periodicals, podcasts, newswires, and more. Includes the full text of the Wall Street Journal.

Find Industry Information

IBISWorld
Provides access to Industry Reports: analyses of U.S. industries categorized by NAICS, and to ProcurementIQ: full-text procurement reports on indirect purchasing lines and products.
BCC Research
Global market research reports, covering market intelligence, forecasting, statistical and analytical data, key players, industry structure, market share, technology trends, and more.
Plunkett Research Online
Analysis and market research for important industry sectors. Includes trend analysis, statistics, organizations, company profiles, information for job-seekers, and ability to create custom reports.
Business Source Complete
Bibliographic and full-text content from peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.

more...

Additional Resources

Citation Information

Citation guides (see Citation Styles and Guides) will help with articles and other standard sources, but you may not find examples or specific guidelines for business sources. Just use your best judgment based on the guidelines. Here's an example for a source like IBISWorld (without the correct indentation) in APA:

Publisher/Database as author. (Publication date). Title of report. Retrieved from URL

IBISWorld. (2014, November). Office furniture rental in the US. Retrieved from http://www.ibisworld.com/

For more help, I like the following guides (developed by librarians so you can trust them). They are all just examples and they may not necessarily all agree, so use what works best for you (and your instructor) and be consistent.

Citing Business Databases in APA Style (UNC Greensboro)

MKTG 435: Introduction to Personal Selling

Your Librarian

Featured titles

Ask Us

Find Company Information

Find Industry Information

Additional Resources

Citation Information