Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Find OER

OER Centralized Searching

These search engines are a great place to start your OER search, especially if you're not tied to textbooks. They search a variety of OER collections, databases, and repositories to make your search a bit easier.

Provides a centralized search of open content from 84 different sources. Created by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.

Provides a simultaneous search across 20 different sources of open educational materials. Created by George Mason University.

Open Textbooks

Collections of Open Textbooks

Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library is a good first stop when looking for open textbooks. Each entry includes a brief description, a table of contents, licensing information, and link(s) to the resource in all available formats, such as PDF, online, and print. Many entries also include comprehensive post-publication reviews.
Pressbooks Directory
A catalog of all titles created on PressbooksEDU, a popular OER creation platform. Users can search by natural language and/or use faceted search to filter books by subject, license, network, language, publisher, word count, number of H5P activities, and more.

Selected Open Textbook Publishers

OpenStax
This collection of textbook was initially aimed at general education classes, but is expanding its publications. Each textbook includes ancillary materials, such as instructor test banks or canvas cartridges, and many are paired with low-cost homework platforms.
OpenStax on OER Commons
OER Commons community hub where instructors can share ancillary resources developed for OpenStax textbooks.
BCcampus Open Education
A collection of hundreds of open textbooks created by faculty at academic institutions in British Columbia.

OER Repositories (including all types of OER)

OER Commons
OER Commons is a repository of over 50,000 OER of all types, and its “Open Author” platform can be used to create new resources.
MERLOT
MERLOT is a collection thousands of free and openly licensed resources with 20 different material types, including assignments, case studies, textbooks, quizzes, and more.
Teaching Commons
Teaching Commons brings together OER that have been curated by librarians at colleges and universities throughout the US.

Open Educational Resources

Ask Us

OER Centralized Searching

Open Textbooks

Collections of Open Textbooks

Selected Open Textbook Publishers

OER Repositories (including all types of OER)

Other Open Content