Skip to Main Content
Reserve a study room
Giving
Library Account
Ask Us
Chat
Resources for...
Undergraduate Students
Graduate Students
Faculty & Staff
VCU Libraries
Find & Access
Search collections
Journals and newspapers
Databases
Digital collections
Search for course materials
Theses and dissertations
Archival materials
Getting and using materials
Borrow, renew, request
Interlibrary loan and delivery
Equipment to borrow
Special Collections and Archives
Get help
Ask us
Accessibility
Library account
How-to guides
Lost and found
SEE ALL
Spaces & Technology
Libraries
James Branch Cabell Library
Cabell floor maps
Health Sciences Library
Health Sciences Library floor maps
VCU Medical Center Health and Wellness Library
Hours
Use Spaces
Studios and makerspaces
Reserve a study room
Classrooms and event spaces
Sponsor an event
Technology
The Workshop at Cabell Library
Making and Creating at the Health Sciences Library
Print, scan and copy
Computers and equipment
Equipment to borrow
Get help
Ask Us
Library room guidelines
Technology instruction and guides
Accessibility
How-to guides
Lost and found
SEE ALL
Research & Teaching Support
Research support
Researcher support services
VCU Publishing
Data services
Classes and workshops
Research guides
Consult a specialist
Tools and browser add-ons
Teaching support
Instructional support services
Request library instruction for your class
Open and affordable course content
Put class materials on reserve
Request/book a film for your class
Copyright and teaching
Collections
Collections overview
Suggest a purchase
Trial databases
Sustaining our journal collections
Special Collections and Archives
Digital collections
Scholars Compass
Get help
Ask us
Accessibility
How-to guides
SEE ALL
About Us
News and events
News
Events
Exhibits
Classes and workshops
Organization
Staff
Strategic framework, mission, and values
Diversity statement
Jobs
Support the libraries
Giving
Advisory committees
Join our friends
Get involved
Get help
Ask Us
Guidelines
Accessibility
Information for community visitors
SEE ALL
Today's Hours
VCU Libraries
Research Guides
The Clinical Inquiry Process Resource Guide
VCU Health System Resources and Contacts
Search this Guide
Search
The Clinical Inquiry Process Resource Guide
The goal of this guide is to provide nurses a resource to understand and carryout the steps of performing an evidence-based practice (EBP) project.
Introduction
Choosing A Mentor
VCU Health System Resources and Contacts
Clinical Inquiry: What is It?
Toggle Dropdown
Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram
Research v. EBP v. PI/QI
The Phases of the Clinical Inquiry Process
The Clinical Question
Toggle Dropdown
Purpose of the Clinical Question
Sources of Clinical Questions
Determine the Validity and Feasibility of the Clinical Question
Background vs. Foreground Questions
Constructing Your Focused Clinical Question (PICOT)
Types of Clinical Questions & Best Types of Studies
Stakeholders: Recruit & Assemble Team
The Evidence: Finding and Appraising (Is There Adequate Evidence)
Toggle Dropdown
Background Info.
Primary Res.
Evidence Summaries/Synthesis
Trans. Lit.
Meta-Search Engines
Useful Documents for this Section
Path of Clinical Inquiry (Research, EBP, PI/QI)
Toggle Dropdown
Useful Documents for this Section
The Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram
Dissemination - Papers, Posters, Presentations, etc.
Toggle Dropdown
Conference List
Creating a Poster
Abstract Writing
Abstract Examples
Writing for Publication
Presentation Skills
Forms/Tools/Documents
Toggle Dropdown
Poster Examples
Resources
Authors & Acknowledgements
References
Page Updated
Updated: October 2, 2018
Under Construction
This page is under construction and will be up again soon....
<<
Previous:
Choosing A Mentor
Next:
Clinical Inquiry: What is It? >>
Chat