Research Guides: FASH 380: Fashion Branding: Home

Branding Defined

Brand identity and image are terms that reflect the values and purpose a company wishes to portray on the one hand (brand identity) against its actual set of perceptions and opinions that consumers have in mind – what the brand stands for (brand image). Symbols and signs such as logos are graphical representations of brand identity.

From What We Know About Brand Identity and Image in WARC Best practices, May 2020.

What we know about brand identity and image (WARC)
Article on current thinking on the topic of brand identity and image: the values and purpose a company wishes to portray on the one hand (brand identity) against its actual set of perceptions and opinions that consumers have in mind – what the brand stands for (brand image).
What we know about brand relaunches (WARC)
Provides guidance on relaunching brands, which can involve a reworking of the product, its pricing, its distribution or its promotion.

Fashion Branding Resources

Who is the Brand? Describe who the brand is as of today

Branding definitions & Case Studies
- WARC
Specific Brand Research
- Business Source Complete
- ABI Inform
- Corporate Parent Website

WARC: Featured Branding Resource
Global advertising and marketing trends, including market intelligence, case studies, conference reports, articles, expenditure data, profiles of major brand owners, and consumer insight.
Good for learning about: Rebranding, Brand Story/Narrative, Brand Promise, Branding Strategies etc

Business Source Complete
Bibliographic and full-text content from peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts, full-text journals and periodicals on business, finance, and management topics. Includes all content in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Includes full-text access to The Wall Street Journal.

Communicating Fashion Brands
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2020
Presents insights and strategies for communicating authentic values, conveying a clearly defined aesthetic and visual language and generating shareable content that resonates with audiences. With insights into strategies used by brands including Burberry, Gucci, Dior, COS, Rapha and Warby Parker, each chapter outlines ways of maintaining relevant and consistent brand narratives in the 21st century.
Marketing Fashion : strategy, branding and promotion
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015
A practical guide to the fundamental principles of marketing and branding, from developing brand identity to creating a customer profile. Using examples and case studies drawn from a broad range of fashion, textile, and retail businesses, students are led through the marketing process from initial consumer and market research to the creation of exciting marketing and branding campaigns.

FASH 380: Fashion Branding

Related Guides

Arts Research Librarian

Branding Defined

Fashion Branding Resources