Ebook FAQ for VCU Libraries

Licensing Overview

• User Licenses:  Unlimited simultaneous access
• Permanent Access: Perpetual access to licensed content

List of all Ebook Titles in This Collection

For a list of all ebook titles in this collection, see Primo.

Books in this collection were purchased by VIVA, Virginia's academic library consortium, specifically for use in courses through either: 

1. VIVA's Faculty Ebook Portal by faculty request. While titles were requested for use in a specific class, they are available for use by anyone in the VCU community. Titles added through this portal are available on the EBSCO eBooks, Taylor & Francis, and Cambridge University Press platforms. Titles are continually added to this collection as VCU faculty requests them.
2. VCU's participation in the VIVA Curriculum Driven Acquisition program. VCU was accepted to the 2023-2024 school year program and has participated in this program in Spring 2020, Fall 2020, Spring 2021, Fall 2022, and Spring 2023. Drawing from the listed course materials adoptions reported by Barnes and Noble, VIVA purchases any titles available as unlimited user ebooks that VCU does not already own (titles available through subscription are replaced with a permanent copy).  Titles added through the CDA program can be found on the following platforms: Bloomsbury, Cambridge Core, DeGruyter, EBSCO, Gale, Oxford Scholarship Online, Project Muse, ProQuest, ScienceDirect, Sage, Taylor and Francis, Wolters Kluwer (Ovid) and Wiley (list as of Aug 2023, AC). Titles are added at the beginning of each participating semester.

How often are titles removed? Titles are not removed from this collection. VCU retains access to the ebooks that are purchased through this collection. 

For more information about this ebook collection, contact Abbey Childs at childsam@vcu.edu.

Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT)

Ebooks purchased for this collection are available through Cambridge Core, DeGruyter, EBSCO, Gale, Oxford Scholarship Online, Project Muse, ProQuest, ScienceDirect, Sage, Taylor and Francis, Walters Kluwer (Ovid), and Wiley (list as of Aug 2023, AC). For platforms covered in this ebook guide, see the platform's page for the vendor's VPATs. Other VPATs will need to be obtained from the vendor's website.

YES. Ebooks purchased for this collection are specifically purchased for classroom use. All titles offer perpetual, unlimited access and are DRM-free or DRM-lite.

More information on this topic is available at our Library Ebooks as Course Materials research guide. For more information about this ebook collection, contact Abbey Childs at childsam@vcu.edu.

• This collection is organized by purchase method rather than platform. Look for the details on the individual platforms on other tabs of this spreadsheet.
• Everything in this collection was purchased specifically for use as course content and is unlimited user and DRM-free or DRM-lite. Please encourage the use of these titles in classes!