Research Guides: Biomedical and Basic Sciences Research: Health Behavior & Policy

Key Resources for Your Department

American Academy of Health Behavior
A multidisciplinary society that serves as the "research home" for health behavior scholars.
American Public Health Association
The mission of the AHPA is to achieve equity in health status and improve the health of the public
American Society of Health Economists
Professional organization dedicated to promoting excellence in health economics research in the United States
Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management
A society dedicated to improving public policy management and fostering excellence in research.
The Association of University Programs in Health Administration
The mission of the AUPHA is to foster excellence in health management and policy education.
Health Politics and Policy Section of the American Political Science Association
This section of the APSA focuses on broad topics in health behavior and policy.
Society for Prevention Research
This organization is dedicated to advancing scientific inquiry into the etiology, prevention, and impacts of health problems worldwide.
Society for Public Health Education
The SOPHE is an independent, nonprofit organization with the goal of providing global leadership to the profession of health education.

Popular resources used to search for protocols:

Springer Nature Experiments
This collection of over 20,000 life sciences and biomedical protocols includes 3500+ protocols relating to qualitative research, large datasets, and epidemiology. Because of its size, we recommend searching this collection first for protocols.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Information on measurement instruments (e.g., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, tests, etc.) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research)
Easy access to a wide array of public health information from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). For public health professionals and the public at large.
Statistical Methods in Medical Research
Peer-reviewed scholarly journal focused on medical statistics
Journal of Modern Applied Statistical Methods
This peer-reviewed, open-access journal focuses on applied parametric and non-parametric statistical analyses.
Not finding what you're looking for?
Try our research guide for experimental protocols

The following are some basic videos that you may find helpful. Please note that the resources provided on this page are not a substitute for speaking with a trained scientist on how to properly perform these procedures.

Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Epidemiological Studies - made easy!
Correlation & Regression
Learn & Apply video detailing relationships between variables.
P-values and significance tests
Khan Academy video on the basics of determining statistical significance.

The following are a selection of e-books available through VCU Libraries. Unless otherwise noted, e-books are restricted to 1 user at a time.

Affective Determinants of Health Behavior by David M. Williams (Editor); Ryan E. Rhodes (Editor); Mark T. Conner (Editor)
ISBN: 9780190499037
Publication Date: 2018-05-14
Affective Determinants of Health Behavior brings together this burgeoning area of research into a single volume and features contributions from leading experts in their respective areas.
Health Behavior by Karen Glanz (Editor); Barbara K. Rimer (Editor); K. Viswanath (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118628980
Publication Date: 2015-07-27
Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides a thorough introduction to understanding and changing health behavior, core tenets of the public health role.
Essentials of Health Behavior by Mark Edberg
ISBN: 9781449698508
Publication Date: 2013-11-14
Essentials of Health Behavior, Second Edition provides the groundwork for understanding, assessing, and effectively applying theories of human behavior within the practice of public health.
Health Behavior Theory for Public Health by Ralph J. DiClemente; Richard A. Crosby; Laura F. Salazar
ISBN: 9780763797539
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
While a solid understanding of human behavior theory is an essential tool for designing and implementing successful health promotion programs, changing health behavior requires multiple skills beyond the ability to simply apply theory. Divided into three sections, the book takes a unique ecological approach to learning about health behavior theory and its application.
Health behavior theory for public health : principles, foundations, and applications by Ralph J. DiClemente, Laura Francisca Salazar, Richard A Crosby
ISBN: 9781284129892
Publication Date: 2019

Most print books related to health behavior and policy are available in the "R" section at the Health Sciences Library. The following is a selection of books that are part of VCU Libraries' physical collection. If there is a book that you love, that is not in our collection, please email Stacey Wahl, Ph.D. to inquire about adding it to the collection at HSL.

Health Behavior Change by Pip Mason; Stephen Rollnick; Christopher C. Butler
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RA776.9 .M37 2010
ISBN: 9780702031533
Publication Date: 2010-06-21
Engagingly written by experts with worldwide reputations in the field, Health Behavior Change presents an exciting method which can be used to helps patients change their behaviour in both hospital and community settings.
Sedentary Behavior and Health by Weimo Zhu; Neville Owen (Editor)
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RA776.95 .S43 2017
ISBN: 9781450471282
Publication Date: 2017-03-03
From office jobs and long commutes to passive entertainment like television and video games, humans are sitting more than ever. Though lack of exercise has major health consequences, researchers are now examining the additional and widespread health risk of the simple act of sitting for extended periods. With research from leading scientists, Sedentary Behavior and Health: Concepts, Assessments, and Interventions presents evidence on sedentary behavior, its apparent health risks, and suggestions on measuring and altering this behavior.
Behavior Theory in Health Promotion Practice and Research by Kenneth R. McLeroy; Bruce G. Simons-Morton; Monica L. Wendel
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RA776.9 .S54 2012
ISBN: 9780763786793
Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Grounded in public health practice, this text offers a comprehensive study of the health behavior theories that are the foundation of all health education and promotion programs.
Social Networks and Health by Thomas W. Valente
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RA418 .V35 2010
ISBN: 9780195301014
Publication Date: 2010-03-25
Relationships and the pattern of relationships have a large and varied influence on both individual and group action. This book provides an introduction to the major theories, methods, models, and findings of social network analysis research and application.

Download the Browzine app to your Apple or Android device and easily browse through journal articles. You can also access BrowZine via the web.

FedStats
FedStats, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information.
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
The Global Health Observatory is a portal providing critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database, including the WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS).
Kids Count Data Center
KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States