Research Guides: Biomedical and Basic Sciences Research: Microbiology and Immunology

Key Resources for Your Department

The American Association of Immunologists (AAI)
AAI is dedicated to advancing the field of immunology and fostering development opportunities for researchers at every career stage. Its members work together to address common interests and push forward the boundaries of knowledge.
American Society for Microbiology (ASM)
With over 30,000 members, including researchers, educators and health professionals, ASM is one of the largest life science societies in the world.
American Society of Parasitologist (ASP)
ASP comprises a diverse group of about 700 scientists from academia, industry, and government involved in the study and teaching of the scientific discipline of parasitology.
Federation of European Microbiological Societies
FEMS is leading the way in promoting excellence and equality in science, and in channelling high quality knowledge to solving today’s societal problems around microbiology. It does this by funding research, publishing journals, organizing collaborative projects and partnering with other organizations.
Microbiology Society
The Microbiology Society is a membership charity for scientists interested in microbes, their effects and their practical uses. It is one of the largest microbiology societies in Europe with a worldwide membership based in universities, industry, hospitals, research institutes and schools.
Society for General Microbiology
The SGM provides a common meeting ground for scientists working in research and in fields with applications in microbiology, including medicine, veterinary medicine, pharmaceuticals, numerous industries, agriculture, food, the environment and education.

Popular resources used to search for microbiology protocols:

Springer Protocols
This collection of over 20,000 life sciences and biomedical protocols includes 1700+ microbiology protocols. Because of its size, we recommend searching this collection first for protocols.
Current Protocols in Microbiology
This publication includes protocols for analyzing microorganisms, proteomic and genomic methods, and emerging technologies and concepts like quorum sensing and biofilms.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)
Peer-reviewed scientific video journal. Searching for specific technologies (RNASeq, siRNA transfection, etc.) may yield useful results.
Not finding what you're looking for?
Try our research guide for experimental protocols

The following are some microbiology lab videos that you may find helpful. Please note that the resources provided on this page are not a substitute for speaking with a trained scientist on how to properly perform these procedures.

Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization (FISH)
Short video showing the FISH process. See this short animation for a basic overview on how FISH works.
Gel Electrophoresis
This video shows you how to perform gel electrophoresis while offering an explanation of how it works.
Gram stain
How to perform a gram stain.
Using a micropipette
This video offers a basic introduction to using micropipettes. It covers accurate delivery ranges for common micropipettes, as well as when to use the first or second stop positions.
Plating methods (Aseptic technique)
This video demonstrates streak plating, pour plating, spread-plating, soft agar overlay, replica plating, and clean up. The entire video is ~18 minutes long, but it's easy to skip to sections of interest.
Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR)
How to set up, run, and troubleshoot basic PCR reactions. See this animated video for a quick explanation of how PCR works.
Transfection
This animation shows how transfection works. For lab procedures, see BenchFly's siRNA Transfection video and Sigma-Aldrich's RNAi Transfection video.
Vernier callipers
Introduction to the parts of a Vernier calliper and how to use this instrument to measure zones of inhibition (ZOI).
Volume Transfers with Serological Pipettes and Micropipettors (Aseptic Technique)
Minimize contamination when transferring cultures and reagents.

Other lab techniques

FtsZ Polymerization Assays: Simple Protocols and Considerations
Simple protocols for monitoring FtsZ polymerization activity, which is important for bacterial cell division.
Pyrosequencing for Microbial Identification and Characterization
This protocol can be used to "identify bacterial species, discriminate bacterial strains, and detect genetic mutations that confer resistance to anti-microbial agents."

The following are a selection of e-books available through VCU Libraries. Unless otherwise noted, e-books are restricted to 1 user at a time.

Advances in Applied Microbiology by Geoffrey Michael Gadd (Series edited by); Sima Sariaslani (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9780128022498
Publication Date: 2015-05-26
The series contains comprehensive reviews of the most current research in applied microbiology. Recent areas covered include bacterial diversity in the human gut, protozoan grazing of freshwater biofilms, metals in yeast fermentation processes and the interpretation of host-pathogen dialogue through microarrays.
Immunology by Richard Coico; Geoffrey Sunshine
ISBN: 9781118396902
Publication Date: 2015-01-28
Immunology: A Short Course, 7th Edition introduces all the critical topics of modern immunology in a clear and succinct yet comprehensive fashion.
Manual of Clinical Microbiology by James H. Jorgensen (Editor); Michael A. Pfaller (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 1555817378
Publication Date: 2015
Manual of Commercial Methods in Clinical Microbiology by Allan L. Truant
ISBN: 1118131126
Publication Date: 2016
Unlimited PDF downloads available.
Roitt's Essential Immunology by Peter J. Delves; Seamus J. Martin; Dennis R. Burton; Ivan M. Roitt
ISBN: 1118232879
Publication Date: 2011-10-07
The textbook of choice for students and instructors of immunology worldwide. Bringing you fully up-to-date with the latest knowledge and concepts about the workings of the immune system, the hallmark easy-reading style of Roitt's Essential Immunology clearly explains the key principles needed by medical and health sciences students, from the basis of immunity to clinical applications.

To browse microbiology books available at the Health Sciences Library, visit the "QR" section on the 2nd floor. The following is a selection of microbiology books that are part of VCU Libraries' physical collection.

Medical Microbiology and Immunology for Dentistry by Nejat Düzgünes
Call Number: QR47 .D89 2016 (Health Sciences Library, General Collection)
ISBN: 0867156473
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Bailey and Scott's Diagnostic Microbiology by Patricia M. Tille
Call Number: QR67 .B37 2017 (Health Sciences Library, General Collection)
ISBN: 9780323354820
Publication Date: 2017
Koneman's Color Atlas and Textbook of Diagnostic Microbiology by Elmer Koneman; Gary W. Procop
Call Number: QR67 .C64 2017 (Health Sciences Library, General Collection)
ISBN: 9781451116595
Publication Date: 2016
Nester's Microbiology by Denise G. Anderson; Sarah Salm; Deborah Allen; Eugene W. Nester
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection QR41.2 .M485 2016
ISBN: 9780073522593
Publication Date: 2015-01-06
This text provides a rock solid foundation in microbiology. By carefully and clearly explaining the fundamental concepts and offering vivid and appealing instructional art, Microbiology: A Human Perspective draws students back to their book again and again! The text has a concise and readable style, covers the most current concepts, and gives students the knowledge and mastery necessary to understand advances of the future. A body systems approach is used in the coverage of diseases.
Fundamentals of Microbiology by Jeffrey C. Pommerville
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection QR46 .P75 2016
ISBN: 9781284057096
Publication Date: 2014-12-15
Ideal for health science and nursing students, Fundamentals of Microbiology: Body Systems Edition, Third Edition has an engaging, student-friendly style and active learning approach. Highly suitable for non-science majors, the fully revised and updated third edition of this bestselling text contains new pedagogical elements and an established learning design format that improves comprehension and retention and makes learning more enjoyable.
Marsh and Martin's Oral Microbiology by Philip D. Marsh; Michael A. O. Lewis; Helen Rogers; David Williams; Melanie Wilson
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection QR47 .M33 2016
ISBN: 9780702061066
Publication Date: 2016-06-30
Marsh and Martins' Oral Microbiology continues to offer the essentials of oral microbiology in an easy-to-read, readily digestible format.
Tuberculosis and the Tubercle Bacillus by William R. Jacobs (Editor); Helen McShane (Editor); Valerie Mizrahi (Editor); Ian M. Orme (Editor)
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection QR201.T6 T83 2018
ISBN: 9781555819552
Publication Date: 2017-09-25
One third of the world's population is infected with tuberculosis (TB), with about 10 million new cases annually. To combat TB and its agent, Mycobacterium tuberculosis, the World Health Organization launched The End TB Strategy, which aims to slash the suffering and cost of TB by 2035.

Download the Browzine app to your Apple or Android device and easily browse through journal articles. You can also access BrowZine via the web. Your VCU subscription includes BrowZine access to Clinical Microbiology Reviews, Molecular Microbiology, Journal of Oral Microbiology, and more.