The AGA is the trusted voice of the GI community. Founded in 1897, AGA has grown to include more than 16,000 members from around the globe who are involved in all aspects of the science, practice and advancement of gastroenterology.
The AHA is committed to funding early-career investigators, whose work is vital to the future of heart and brain health. Funding for training and early-career investigators represents a substantial portion of the millions that we invest into research each year.
Founded in 1887, the APS is a global leader in expanding knowledge related to biological function. We connect a multidisciplinary community of nearly 10,000 scientists and educators from around the world, driving collaboration and spotlighting scientific discoveries in physiology and related disciplines.
The Biophysical Society was founded in the 1950s to lead the development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics through many activities including meetings, publications, community outreach, and career placement.
The Endocrine Society is devoted to advancing hormone research, excellence in the clinical practice of endocrinology, broadening understanding of the critical role hormones play in health, and advocating on behalf of the global endocrinology community.
The largest network of physiologists in Europe brings together over 4000 scientists from over 60 countries. Since its foundation in 1876, its Members have made significant contributions to our knowledge of biological systems and the treatment of disease.
This collection of over 20,000 life sciences and biomedical protocols includes 3500+ protocols relating to qualitative research, large datasets, and epidemiology. Because of its size, we recommend searching this collection first for protocols.
Over 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos on every step of the research process for beginner to expert researchers.
The following are some basic videos that you may find helpful. Please note that the resources provided on this page are not a substitute for speaking with a trained scientist on how to properly perform these procedures.
This video demonstrates streak plating, pour plating, spread-plating, soft agar overlay, replica plating, and clean up. The entire video is ~18 minutes long, but it's easy to skip to sections of interest.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RZ421 .O83 2016
Publication Date: 2015-10-06
See how energy therapies can normalize physiology and restore your patients' health! Energy Medicine: The Scientific Basis, 2nd Edition provides a deeper understanding of energy and energy flow in the human body.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection QP145 .P492 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract, Fifth Edition -- winner of a 2013 Highly Commended BMA Medical Book Award for Internal Medicine-- covers the study of the mechanical, physical, and biochemical functions of the GI Tract while linking the clinical disease or disorder, bridging the gap between clinical and laboratory medicine.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RE334 .O28 2013
Publication Date: 2012-10-18
This book has been conceived to aid eye care practitioners such as ophthalmologists and optometrists as well as other eye care or research professionals such as biologists, biochemists and medical doctors interested in the Ocular Surface.
Download the Browzine app to your Apple or Android device and easily browse through journal articles. You can also access BrowZine via the web.
Research Guides for PHIS Courses
Here is a list of research guides for courses offered by the Physiology and Biophysics department. If you do not see your guide here or would like to inquire about the creation of a guide for one of your courses, contact Stacey Wahl, Ph.D.