Research Guides: Biomedical and Basic Sciences Research: VCU Resources

The Office of Research and Innovation has a complete list of the core facilities available at VCU. See below for direct links to the most useful facilities for basic scientists.

Scroll to the bottom for more useful VCU links!

Additional Support

The Research Data Management Team at VCU Libraries can assist VCU faculty, students, and staff with data management plans, metadata, and compliance with funding agency requirements.

Scholars' Compass, is the institutional repository and publication platform for VCU's academic, research, and administrative communities. All theses generated by VCU basic scientists are published here.

The Statistical and Analytics Consulting Lab offers a variety of consulting services which enhance both the educational experiences and research projects of VCU students and faculty.

VCU Technology Services provide 24/7 support through a variety of IT service platforms.

University Computer Center provides secure, reliable and cost-effective computing power, data storage, and system backup and recovery services with 24 x 7 operations and systems support to the VCU community.

The C. Kenneth and Dianne Wright Center for Clinical and Translational Research provides the commonwealth with infrastructure and resources that promote interdisciplinary human health research. As the first federally funded clinical and translational research center in Virginia, we foster research collaborations across the state and accelerate the translation of scientific discoveries to patient care.

The Writing Center provides online and in-person consultations, workshops, and educational resources for students and faculty.

Basic Science Core Facilities

Bioinformatics Core at CCTR
Provides bioinformatics services and resources to the VCU community so researchers can focus on biological interpretation without worrying about the technical expertise needed to handle and process the data.
Cancer Mouse Models Developing Shared Resource at Massey Cancer Center
Aspires to make translational research an attainable goal. The CMMC provides expertise and services that facilitate preclinical mouse models to support the development of novel cancer therapeutics and precision medicine at VCU Massey Cancer Center.
Center for the Study of Biological Complexity
The mission of this center is to build an academic community centered on quantitative and computational discovery science and to promote collaborative and reproducible research and education in basic and applied life sciences across Virginia Commonwealth University
Chemical and Proteomic Mass Spectrometry Core Facility
Located in the Department of Chemistry, this core facility offers an array of mass spectrometric services, from basic mass measurement to complex proteome analyses.
Flow Cytometry Shared Resource Core
Offers a wide range of cell sorting capabilities including: routine fluorescence analysis, design of innovative analyses, and customized sorting protocols. The resource manager closely follows the analyses, insuring quality control and advising users on approaches to experimental design and data analysis.
more...less...
Located within the Molecular Medicine Research Building
Lipidomics/Metabolomics Shared Resource
The VLMC provides cost-effective and highly quantitative lipid and small metabolite analyses. The resource director and/or staff also provide consultative services for experimental design, data interpretation, and equipment usage.
more...less...
The VLMC is a centralized resource located in newly renovated space on the 2nd floor of Sanger Hall in rooms 2-012 and 2-006.
Molecular Pathology Research Services Laboratory
The MPRS Laboratory provides high-quality, cost-effective Next Gen. Sequencing (NGS) for basic research, translational research and clinical trials.
Structural Biology Shared Resource Core
The resource offers instrumentation, computer hardware and software, and support personnel for the determination of molecular structures and the utilization of structural information in cancer research.
more...less...
The shared resource encompasses three related components: X-ray Crystallography, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance, and Molecular Modeling. The Structural Biology Shared Resource Core also collaborates closely with the Biological Macromolecule Shared Resource, which can undertake the production and purification of proteins required for structural analysis.
Tissue and Data Acquisition and Analysis Core
TDAAC is designed to provide high-quality controlled human tissue samples to VCU investigators and provide customized assistance in all tissue collection, consenting and processing needs.
Transgenic/Knock-out Mouse Shared Resource
This facility strives to: facilitate the development of new genetically engineered mouse models using conventional and CRISPR-Cas9-based technologies, and provide a full range of support services to facilitate the use of these models, including breeding colony management, genotyping, line rederivation, embryo and sperm cryopreservation and cryorecovery, and offer expert consultation on the development and use of mouse models.
VCU Microscopy Facility
Provides the equipment and expertise to examine subcellular details at high resolution by both light and electron microscopy and to perform quantitative image analysis.
more...less...
This facility is located within the Anatomy and Neurobiology department and affiliated with the Massey Cancer Center.