Research Guides: Biomedical and Basic Sciences Research: Medical Physics

Key Resources for Your Department

American Association of Physics in Medicine (AAPM)
AAPM is a scientific and professional organization, founded in 1958, composed of more than 8000 scientists whose clinical practice is dedicated to ensuring accuracy, safety and quality in the use of radiation in medical procedures such as medical imaging and radiation therapy.
The Biophysical Society (BPS)
The Biophysical Society was founded in the 1950s to lead the development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics through many activities including meetings, publications, community outreach, and career placement.
Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists
The Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists (COMP) is the main professional body for medical physicists practicing in Canada. The membership is composed of professional physicists, scientists, and academics located at universities, hospitals, cancer centres, and government research facilities such as the National Research Council as well as graduate students in medical physics programs and post-doctoral fellows.
International Association for Radiation Research
The IARR is an independent organization of radiation research societies which operates at the international level. Its principal aim, as laid down in the 1974 Constitution, is to advance radiation research in the fields of physics, chemistry, biology and medicine.
International Federation for Medical and Biological Engineering
The mission of the IFMBE is to encourage, support, represent and unify the world-wide Medical and Biological Engineering community in order to promote health and quality of life through advancement of research, development, application and management of technology.
Radiation Research Society

Springer Nature Experiments
This collection of over 20,000 life sciences and biomedical protocols includes 3800+ protocols related to neuroscience. Because of its size, we recommend searching this collection first for protocols.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)
Peer-reviewed scientific video journal. Searching for specific technologies (RNASeq, siRNA transfection, etc.) may yield useful results.
Not finding what you're looking for?
Try our research guide for experimental protocols

Correlation & Regression
Learn & Apply video detailing relationships between variables.
Epidemiology and Biostatistics

The following are a selection of e-books available through VCU Libraries. Unless otherwise noted, e-books are restricted to 1 user at a time.

Encyclopaedia of Medical Physics by Slavik Tabakov (Editor); Franco Milano (Editor); Magdalena S. Stoeva (Editor); Perry Sprawls (Editor); Sameer Tipnis (Editor); Tracy Underwood (Editor)
ISBN: 0429953488
Publication Date: 2021-07-19
The Essential Physics of Medical Imaging by Jerrold T. Bushberg; J. Anthony Seibert; Edwin M. Leidholdt; John M. Boone
ISBN: 9781975103224
Publication Date: 2020-11-12
The Essential Physics of Medical Imaging Study Guide by Jerrold T. Bushberg; J. Anthony Seibert
ISBN: 9781975103262
Publication Date: 2022-10-08
Essentials of Nuclear Medicine Physics and Instrumentation by Rachel A. Powsner; Mark R. Palmer; Edward R. Powsner
Publication Date: 2013
Laser Interaction with Heterogeneous Biological Tissue by Kirill Kulikov; Tatiana Koshlan
ISBN: 9783319941134
Publication Date: 2018-07-19
This book introduces readers to the principles of laser interaction with biological cells and tissues with varying degrees of organization.
Medical Imaging by Troy Farncombe (Editor); Kris Iniewski (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
Medical Physics Volume 1: Physical Aspects of Organs and Imaging by Hartmut Zabel
ISBN: 3110372851
Publication Date: 2017-06-12
https://vcu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01VCU_INST/hj7ovl/alma99131938492801101
Medical Physics Volume 2: Radiology, Lasers, Nanoparticles and Prosthetics by Hartmut Zabel
ISBN: 9783110553116
Publication Date: 2017-06-26
Physics for Radiation Protection by James E. Martin
Publication Date: 2013
NOTE: This book provides a basic overview of radiation physics.
The Practice of Internal Dosimetry in Nuclear Medicine by Michael G. Stabin
ISBN: 9781482245813
Publication Date: 2016-08-25
Problems and Solutions in Medical Physics by Kwan-Hoong Ng; Jeannie Hsiu Ding Wong; Geoffrey D. Clarke
ISBN: 1351006770
Publication Date: 2018-05-20
Radiology, Lasers, Nanoparticles and Prosthetics by Hartmut Zabel
ISBN: 9783110553116
Publication Date: 2017-06-26
Medical Physics covers the applied branch of physics concerned with the application of concepts and methods of physics to diagnostics and therapeutics of human diseases.

For printed books that you may find useful, browse sections R 895-920 (medical physics, medical radiology, and nuclear medicine) on the 2nd floor of the Health Sciences Library. The following are a few of the print books VCU Libraries has in its collection.

Medical Physics by Hartmut Zabel
Call Number: James Branch Cabell Library General Collection R895 .Z33 2017
ISBN: 9783110372816
Publication Date: 2017-06-12
Medical Physics covers the applied branch of physics concerned with the application of concepts and methods of physics to diagnostics and therapeutics of human diseases.
Nuclear Medicine Physics by Ramesh Chandra; Arman Rahmim
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection R895 .C47 2018
ISBN: 9781496381842
Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Part of the renowned The Basics series, Nuclear Medicine Physics helps build foundational knowledge of how and why things happen in the clinical environment.
Practical Radiation Protection in Healthcare by Colin J. Martin (Editor); David G Sutton (Editor)
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RA569 .P667 2015
ISBN: 9780199655212
Publication Date: 2015-02-18
Practical Radiation Protection in Healthcare provides a practical guide for medical physicists and others involved with radiation protection in the healthcare environment.

Download the Browzine app to your Apple or Android device and easily browse through journal articles. You can also access BrowZine via the web. Your VCU subscription includes BrowZine access to Medical Physics, Physics in Medicine and Biology, Radiotherapy and Oncology, and more.

Download the Browzine app to your Apple or Android device and easily browse through journal articles. You can alsoaccess BrowZine via the web. Your VCU subscription includes BrowZine access to Medical Physics, Physics in Medicine and Biology, Radiotherapy and Oncology, and more.

Please see additional resources for Medical Physics below. If you do not see your favorite resource listed here, please contact your librarian John Cyrus

INSPEC
Physics, computer science and electrical engineering database that includes citations, abstracts, and some links to full-text.
arXiv
e-Print archive that includes physics and math materials.
World of Science
Free resource from the maker of Mathematica. Check out the physics and math sections.
PEIR Radiology
4,000+ curated radiology teaching images from the University of Alabama at Birmingham's Department of Pathology.