Research Guides: Biomedical and Basic Sciences Research: Physiology and Biophysics

Key Resources for Your Department

American Gastroenterological Association
The AGA is the trusted voice of the GI community. Founded in 1897, AGA has grown to include more than 16,000 members from around the globe who are involved in all aspects of the science, practice and advancement of gastroenterology.
American Heart Association (AHA)
The AHA is committed to funding early-career investigators, whose work is vital to the future of heart and brain health. Funding for training and early-career investigators represents a substantial portion of the millions that we invest into research each year.
American Physiological Society (APS)
Founded in 1887, the APS is a global leader in expanding knowledge related to biological function. We connect a multidisciplinary community of nearly 10,000 scientists and educators from around the world, driving collaboration and spotlighting scientific discoveries in physiology and related disciplines.
The Biophysical Society (BPS)
The Biophysical Society was founded in the 1950s to lead the development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics through many activities including meetings, publications, community outreach, and career placement.
Endocrine Society
The Endocrine Society is devoted to advancing hormone research, excellence in the clinical practice of endocrinology, broadening understanding of the critical role hormones play in health, and advocating on behalf of the global endocrinology community.
International Society for Heart Research (ISHR)
The mission of the ISHR is to promote the discovery and dissemination of knowledge in the cardiovascular sciences on a world-wide basis.
International Union of Physiological Sciences (IUPS)
The mission of IUPS is to foster the study of physiology worldwide.
The Physiological Society
The largest network of physiologists in Europe brings together over 4000 scientists from over 60 countries. Since its foundation in 1876, its Members have made significant contributions to our knowledge of biological systems and the treatment of disease.

Popular resources used to search for protocols:

Springer Nature Experiments
This collection of over 20,000 life sciences and biomedical protocols includes 3500+ protocols relating to qualitative research, large datasets, and epidemiology. Because of its size, we recommend searching this collection first for protocols.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)
Peer-reviewed scientific video journal. Searching for specific technologies (RNASeq, siRNA transfection, etc.) may yield useful results.
Not finding what you're looking for?
Try our research guide for experimental protocols
SAGE Research Methods
Over 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos on every step of the research process for beginner to expert researchers.

The following are some basic videos that you may find helpful. Please note that the resources provided on this page are not a substitute for speaking with a trained scientist on how to properly perform these procedures.

JoVE Science Education: Basic Lab Techniques
The Journal of Visualized Experiments offers a series of videos of basic laboratory techniques.
Immunocytochemistry
Basic overview of how to set up an immunocytochemistry experiment, based on BioLine protocols.
Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR)
How to set up, run, and troubleshoot basic PCR reactions. See this animated video for a quick explanation of how PCR works.
Plating methods (Aseptic technique)
This video demonstrates streak plating, pour plating, spread-plating, soft agar overlay, replica plating, and clean up. The entire video is ~18 minutes long, but it's easy to skip to sections of interest.
Gel Electrophoresis
This video shows you how to perform gel electrophoresis while offering an explanation of how it works.

Physiology by Linda S. Costanzo
ISBN: 0323511899
Publication Date: 2018
Physiology Questions-Based Learning by Hwee Ming Cheng (Editor)
ISBN: 9811008779
Publication Date: 2016-06-24
This book provides the reader with a range of questions and explanations related to essential aspects of the neural, hormonal and gastrointestinal physiology.
Understanding Anaomy and Physiology by Gale Sloan Thompson
ISBN: 9780803643918
Publication Date: 2015-01-16
Biophysics by Mark C. Leake
ISBN: 9781498702461
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
An Up-to-Date Toolbox for Probing Biology Biophysics: Tools and Techniques covers the experimental and theoretical tools and techniques of biophysics.
Introduction to Experimental Biophysics by Jay L. Nadeau
ISBN: 1317974522

Energy Medicine by James L. Oschman
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RZ421 .O83 2016
ISBN: 9780443067297
Publication Date: 2015-10-06
See how energy therapies can normalize physiology and restore your patients' health! Energy Medicine: The Scientific Basis, 2nd Edition provides a deeper understanding of energy and energy flow in the human body.
Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract by Leonard R. Johnson (Editor); Fayez K. Ghishan (Editor); Jonathan D. Kaunitz (Editor); Juanita L. Merchant (Editor); Hamid M. Said (Editor); Jackie D. Wood (Editor)
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection QP145 .P492 2012
ISBN: 9780123820266
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract, Fifth Edition -- winner of a 2013 Highly Commended BMA Medical Book Award for Internal Medicine-- covers the study of the mechanical, physical, and biochemical functions of the GI Tract while linking the clinical disease or disorder, bridging the gap between clinical and laboratory medicine.
The Renin-Angiotensin System: Current Research Progress in the Pancreas by Po Sing Leung
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection QP572.A54 L48 2010
ISBN: 9789048190591
Publication Date: 2010-09-20
Cardiovascular Physiology Concepts by Richard E. Klabunde
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection QP101 .K553 2012
ISBN: 9781451113846
Publication Date: 2011-09-14
Now in its second edition, this highly accessible monograph lays a foundation for understanding of the underlying concepts of normal cardiovascular function.
Ocular Surface by Raul Martin Herranz (Editor); Rosa M. Corrales Herran (Editor)
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RE334 .O28 2013
ISBN: 9781578087402
Publication Date: 2012-10-18
This book has been conceived to aid eye care practitioners such as ophthalmologists and optometrists as well as other eye care or research professionals such as biologists, biochemists and medical doctors interested in the Ocular Surface.

Download the Browzine app to your Apple or Android device and easily browse through journal articles. You can also access BrowZine via the web.