VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Request Materials

Cancel a Request

chat loading...

To cancel your request

  • Log into your ILLiad account to see Pending Requests
  • Find the request you wish to cancel and select the transaction number. 
  • Select "Cancel Request" at the top of the screen.

You cannot cancel:

  • a request if the item has already been received and checked out or delivered to you.
  •  a renewal request.

Contact staff  to via email and request a cancelation in these cases.

Requests canceled by library staff

When a request is canceled by library staff, you'll be notified via email with the reason for the cancelation.

Reasons for Cancellations and Explanations

Reasons for Cancellations and Explanations

This table provides brief explanations for the reasons your interlibrary loan and document delivery requests were cancelled. If you still need further assistance, contact us at libjbcrds@vcu.edu or 804-828-1115.

 

Reasons

Explanations

Cancelled by customer

You have cancelled this request.

Due to the Winter Break, we are unable to locate a lender.

Many lending institutions close due to winter breaks and holidays. At this time, we are unable to find an institution willing to loan this item. You may extend your ‘Not Wanted After Date’ to a date after the Winter Break and resubmit the request now. We will hold the request and process it when we return in January. Or you may resubmit your request in January.

Interlibrary loan items may not be placed on Course Reserves.

We are not able to borrow books and other returnables for course reserves. You may put your privately-owned books on Course Reserves or fill out a Suggest a Purchase form for the library.

Item not received or wrong item received.

A lending institution sent us the wrong item or we never received the requested item. We've submitted your request again to a different lending institution.

Not on shelf

Although the VCU Libraries catalog indicated that this item is available, we were not able to locate it.

Other

You will receive a specialized cancellation email. Please read the email and notify us if you have additional questions.

Purpose of request

We have learned from your note or comments that your intended purpose is illegal, goes against copyright law, or against VCUL policies and/or guidelines. More information may be provided in the cancellation email.

The item is available in our Electronic Books Collection.

Unfortunately, you are not eligible for this service. This item is available in the VCU Libraries online collection and is accessible if you are in one of the libraries.  However, if off-site, you may get access using your VCU eID username and password.

This is a duplicate request of ILLiad Transaction Number xxxxx.

You submitted two identical requests. This may have been accidental. We canceled the duplicated request, and we are working to fill the other.

This item is already checked out to you.

You already have the requested item.

This item is available in the Bound Journals Collection in VCU Libraries.

Based on your status, you are not eligible for this service. Since this item is available in one of the open collections, you may retrieve it on your next visit to the library.

This item is available in the Bound Journals Collection in VCU Libraries.

Based on your status, you are not eligible for this service. Since this item is available in one of the open collections, you may retrieve it on your next visit to the library.

This item is available in the Current Journals Collection in VCU Libraries.

Based on your status, you are not eligible for this service. Since this item is available in one of the open collections, you may retrieve it on your next visit to the library.

This item is available in the General Collection in VCU Libraries.

Based on your status, you are not eligible for this service. Since this item is available in one of the open collections, you may retrieve it on your next visit to the library.

The cancellation email includes the call number and the name of the library that house the requested item.

This item is available in the Government Documents at the James Branch Cabell Library.

Based on your status, you are not eligible for this service. Since this item is available in one of the open collections, you may retrieve it on your next visit to the library.

The cancellation email includes the call number and the name of the library that house the requested item.

This item is available in the Microforms Collection in VCU Libraries.

Based on your status, you are not eligible for this service. Since this item is available in one of the open collections, you may retrieve it on your next visit to the library.

This item is available in the Reference Collection in VCU Libraries.

 Based on your status, you are not eligible for this service. Since this item is available in one of the open collections, you may retrieve it on your next visit to the library.

This item is located in the Reserves Collection in VCU Libraries and cannot be requested through ILLiad.

This item is being held behind the main circulation and information services desk for Course Reserves. Course Reserve items are only available for short-term loans specified by the teaching professor.  You must request these items in person from the desks.

This item is non-circulating.

Lending libraries have indicated that this item does not circulate outside their library. Unfortunately, we are unable to fill this request. Complete a Suggest a Purchase form if you believe this item will be valuable to the VCU Libraries collection.

This item is not available in the VCU Libraries collection. You may be able to borrow this item through your local library.

VCU Libraries does not own the item and we are unable to borrow it from another institution on your behalf. Please contact us and we may further assist you in locating this item from your local public library.

This item is not available in your preferred format.

Unfortunately, we were unable to find the format you desired and your request indicated that you will not accept another. For example, you indicated you will only accept an ebook, but we are only able to find the print copy of this item.

This item is only available in _________language

This reason is used when we are not able to provide the item in your preferred language. We were only able to locate this item in the language indicated in your cancellation email. Please respond to the email if you are able to accept the listed language(s).

This item is too new to borrow through interlibrary loan.

Unfortunately, most institutions are unwilling to loan items new to their collections. In this case, the requested item was published too recently and, therefore, no libraries are able or willing to lend it.

This request is for more than the amount we are allowed to copy.

Your request exceeds the amount we are allowed to copy. Please reply to the cancellation email if you are willing to reduce the number of pages or are willing to accept a physical copy of this item.

This thesis/dissertation is available full-text.

Unfortunately, you are not eligible for this service. However, this item is available in the VCU Libraries online collection and is accessible if you are in one of the libraries.  If you are off-site, you may get access using your VCU eID username and password.

We are not able to send this item to you from the VCU Libraries collection.

We are not able to ship physical items internationally or transcontinental. Please contact your local library for assistance in locating a library near you.  If you are a VCUQatar patron, go to the VCUQatar Web site at http://www.qatar.vcu.edu/library/use-your-library/interlibrary-loan/ or contact a VCUQatar Librarian for further assistance. Contact by responding to the cancellation email, if you have questions.

We are unable to borrow textbooks from other libraries.

We are not able to borrow textbooks from lending institutions. Due dates on items borrowed from another institution will not allow use for the full semester.

You are not eligible for this service.

You may not be eligible for interlibrary loan services. Please visit https://guides.library.vcu.edu/request/eligibility for further information regarding eligibility. You may check with your local public, academic or special library to get a copy of this item.

We are unable to fill this request by your deadline.

Our turnaround time does not meet your deadline. For items borrowed from other libraries, the turnaround time may vary from hours for digital items to weeks for physical items. Staff do not know when items will be received since lenders use varying shipping methods. For items from the VCU Libraries collection, the turnaround time varies from hours to 2 business days when fully staffed.  However, weekends, location of items, status and other factors may contribute to delays.

We are unable to verify your request as cited.

Using the information you provided, we were not successful in filling your request. Your cancellation email will often explain the problem, e.g., insufficient information, author and title does not match, etc. Please check with staff at the circulation and information services desk for assistance.

We have exhausted all possible sources.

We have submitted your request to libraries and they have all denied our request for varying reasons. If this is a book, media or other returnables (not digital copies of articles or chapters), you may complete the purchase suggestion form.

We have requested this item from numerous libraries.

This reason is used when your “Not Wanted After Date” is several months in the future and there are many libraries that own the requested item. We hae sent your request to several libraries (about 50 libraries) and they have all denied our request. Since your “Not Wanted After Date” is far in the future and there are more libraries to send the request to, we need to know if you want us to continue submitting the request on your behalf. In the cancellation message, we will share the reasons libraries will not lend at this time.

We were unable to borrow this dissertation.

Unfortunately, the institution that owns this dissertation is unable or unwilling to loan it. Submit a request for the table of contents and select chapters for review.  You may also be able to purchase a copy at http://disexpress.umi.com.

We were unable to locate an active library record for you.

Your library record is not active. Please contact us for more information.

We were unable to verify your affiliation with VCU.

We are not able to confirm your affiliation with VCU. Please contact us by replying to the email or calling us and we will direct you on the next steps to take.

You failed to include the ‘pickup and return dates’ in the note field for this media booking request

In order to fill your media booking request, we require these dates to be included. Please reply to the email with the desired “pickup and return dates”. If this is not a media booking request (a request for an item intended to be shown to a class on a specified date), please let us know, and we will attempt to provide this item to you as soon as possible.

Your library record is blocked for overdue fines.

You currently have fines on your account due to overdue materials. We are not able to provide additional materials until you return this item(s) and/or pay the associated fines.

Your library record is blocked for overdue fines.

You currently have fines on your account due to overdue materials. We are not able to provide additional materials until you return this item(s) and/or pay the associated fines.

Your library record is blocked for overdue material(s).

You currently have materials checked out that are extremely overdue and presumed lost. We are not able to provide additional materials until you return these materials and pay the associated fines.

Your request for equipment must be made in person. 

You have requested equipment that cannot be requested through ILLiad. Equipment must be requested in person. Use the contact information provided in the cancellation email to follow up on this requested item